Exam time!

January 17, 2008 at 4:01 pm 1 comment

Can you believe it?  It’s semester exam time already!  I can hardly grasp how quickly this school year is going by.

I am in the middle of grading a bunch of exams (on paper – more on that debacle in a moment), but I thought I would give myself a little “study break” to post a new blog.

On Tuesday, I had to attend a meeting about a program that some of the teachers on my campus are going to use next semester.  The Epic Learning system is a computer-based curriculum that, according to their website,

…provides schools with rigorous, relevant content delivered by the most advanced curriculum delivery system in the world!

Whoa!  Sounds great, right?  (And also a little vague, if you ask me – which you didn’t, so never mind. :))

It might turn out to be great.  Right now, I am a little bitter about the whole thing.  This program was supposed to be available to my students at the beginning of the school year.  However, it came with its own laptop.  Again, sounds great, until you realize that all of my students already have their own laptop and if we used Epic they would have to carry a second computer around.  This is actually what we had last year’s seniors do, and boy, was it a beating!  They hated it.  I don’t blame them.

Anyway, this year we were able to get the program on our own school-issued laptops, so that takes care of the second laptop issue.  But the problem is that the software wasn’t ready until recently.  That means an entire semester has gone by without any of the students (or me!) using the program.  Sure, government is only a one-semester course, so it seems like it would be easy enough to just begin implementing Epic lessons now, at the beginning of the second semester.  But I just spent a whole lot of time and effort creating my own government lessons, mostly from scratch.  Having another “resource” tossed on me is just rubbing me the wrong way for whatever reason.  I feel like I haven’t had enough time with it myself to buy into the whole concept, so I don’t know how I’m going to get my students to buy into it – especially when all they know about it comes from the complaints of the class of 2007.

The main reason I tell you all of that is, of course, to just rant about it unproductively.  But I do have another purpose.  The Epic program requires a ton of hard drive space.  So yesterday afternoon I had to take my laptop into the Campus Technicians’ office to have a new hard drive installed, and you know what that means: backing up all of my files first, and then starting over with a new hard drive – deleting all the programs I won’t use, adding the extra programs that I do use, importing bookmarks and personal email folders, resubscribing to podcasts in iTunes, upgrading software (example: our laptop image has the old version of Internet Explorer), “fixing” the settings on just about everything so that things function to my liking….  It just takes forever.  And in the middle of all of that, I forgot to do anything about my semester exam.  I thought it was on Blackboard, but it wasn’t.  And this is why I have a large pile of paper exams to get through this afternoon/evening.

Phew!  I suspect there is going to be a lot more paper flying around over the next few days!

Okay, study break’s over…back to work!

Entry filed under: Education.

Of Interest A Visit From Administrators

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Kary  |  January 24, 2008 at 12:25 pm

    Wow, that does sound like a beating. I alway hated having to get all the unwanted programs off of my computer once I got it back.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My ClustrMap

January 2008
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

del.icio.us


