Differentiation

May 2, 2007 at 4:56 pm 1 comment

A colleage started a discussion on differentiation last week, and I decided to write my own post about it.  If you feel like joining the discussion, it’s probably best to do it over on his blog. 🙂

The word “differentiation” kind of depresses me.

The thing is, I get mired in the irony of the fact that I could differentiate to the point that my kids are doing the same lesson 150 different ways, but in the end, the State is going to gauge mastery by testing all of them in exactly the same manner.

(Quick side note: I love that the Wikipedia article on TAKS now has the “The neutrality of this article is disputed” disclaimer.  LOVE IT.)

Well, that and the fact that it’s only my second year and I just don’t have it down yet.

I’ve had small successes this year; I think I’ve got a decent grasp on differentiating by product, like one of the commenters on the other blog said.  It’s probably the easiest way I can think of to integrate differentiation into the classroom, but I also draw a blank when I try to think of ways to do it really effectively without using technology.

I think for me the key is to do a little bit more each year.  I’m proud of how much I’ve grown in the last year, but I have no qualms about admitting that I still have a long way to go!

I probably have more to say on the topic, but I just got home.  I took tomorrow off – just because I need a random weekday break – and I don’t feel like putting my thinking cap back on until first thing Friday morning.

Until then…!

Entry filed under: Education, HighStakesTesting, School 2.0, Technology.

On Being Unprepared SO UPSETTING!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. OrdeleBreste  |  August 3, 2008 at 5:39 am

    Very nice!!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My ClustrMap

May 2007
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

del.icio.us


