I Heart Unfair, High-Stakes, Standardized Tests

February 22, 2007 at 9:04 am 3 comments

Yeah, not so much.

TAKS was a brutal beating up one side and down the other.  My students tried to tell me they had it worse than I did, since they had to take a test all day long.  I told them that my job was far worse: I had to stare at them while they did it.  At least they got to use their brains.

Remember this commercial?

Well, I’d like to reshoot it as a public service announcement for our school news show, only I’d say, “This is your brain on TAKS.”

(Wow – I’m bitter this week!)

Which brings me to this question:
Why does a chicken coop have two doors?
Answer: If it had four doors, it would be a chicken sedan.

Entry filed under: Education, Relevance, Silly.

Drowning on Dry Land I’m Special!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Keith Wyrick  |  February 22, 2007 at 9:15 am

    Yes…TAKS was a beating. I must say though that our (at least mine) were great about the whole thing. They worked hard! I was impressed by the work they put into it.

    And on a lighter note…I bet your told you that joke while you vented the other day didn’t he?!?

  • 2. Keith Wyrick  |  February 22, 2007 at 9:16 am

    Oops…left out there word “kids” there in my first sentence. Good thing I’m not a proof-reader by trade!

  • 3. Kary Ellis  |  February 27, 2007 at 11:44 am

    TAKS was a beating. I was a hall monitor the whole day! It was boring!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My ClustrMap

February 2007
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728  

del.icio.us


