Disaster!

February 14, 2007 at 5:26 pm 3 comments

On my way to 4th period today, my laptop decided it had had enough of its carrying bag.  It proceeded to make a flying leap onto the floor in the hallway.

Disaster.

At first, it seemed like everything was okay.  But an hour later, when I tried to respond to a coworker’s yackpack, I realized my microphone wasn’t working.  When this happened last week, one of the guys from the tech office came upstairs, messed with a few settings, and restarted my computer.  He got it to work and then commented, “Huh.  It just needed a restart.”  So today, when the microphone wasn’t working, I thought, “I’ll just reboot it like last week!”

Alas, it was to reboot no more.  Everything was fine until it asked me if I wanted to start normally or in safe mode.  It didn’t matter which option I tried, I ended up with a flash of blue screen (the ultimate “kiss of death” when you’re dealing with computers) followed by a reboot.  I watched in horror as this cycle repeated itself a number of times before I finally let it sink in that

1) no matter how many times it tries, it’s not going to reboot, and
2) all documents/files/etc. that weren’t backed up are, in all likelihood, lost forever.

Which brings me to my next point: I hate where I am in world history.

I cannot for the life of me figure out why any student ever needs to know anything about the French Revolution except maybe for the part about democracy.  Anything else they can Google.  When I’m really honest with myself, I admit that, to this day, I couldn’t tell you anything about the French Revolution, Napoleon, or the Bastille.  I’ve been out of high school nearly ten years, and I haven’t used any of that information in my real life.  And if I do need to know it – say for the day Alex Trebek calls and wants me on Jeopardy!I’ll Google it.  The only reason I “need” to know this stuff is that it’s my job to “teach” it to students.

Perhaps you’re starting to wonder where the aforementioned point is.  Look no further than this: I hate this part of the curriculum.  If I hate it, what must my students think?  Beyond that, the fact that I hate it doesn’t exactly inspire me to spend a lot of time on it, nor does it inspire a ton of creativity with regard to lesson plans.  And without my laptop, my chances of coming up with something interesting to do have just narrowed to nearly zero.  Looks like we’ll be on paper tomorrow – what a drag!

The good news is I should have a new hard drive and everything should be fine by tomorrow afternoon.  The bad news is I haven’t backed up anything that I haven’t done yet – I only made copies of the things we’ve already moved past.  So if my new best tech friend can’t save anything, I’m stuck reinventing the wheel for the rest of the year.

Fingers crossed, everyone….

Entry filed under: Education, Relevance, Technology.

Thoughts on TCEA 2007 Drowning on Dry Land

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dave  |  February 14, 2007 at 6:24 pm

    I teach a lot of things I hate. I teach even more things the students hate. Sometime we don’t know what might inspire them, despite our best efforts to the contrary.

    Needing to know about the French Revolution for the purpose of teaching it is needing to know it. You are passing on the heritage of Western Civilization. Beyond that, the value of it depends on your historical perspective. It is a valuable contrast to the American Revolution and thus seminal in understanding the reason the US and Europe have such different perspectives on so many things.

    Google and Wikipedia are useful sources of historical facts. They can’t teach history. They can’t put facts into the fabric of life. They can’t juxtapose another time and place with your time and community, so that your students gain a greater appreciation of both.

    But you knew all that. Sorry for the pep talk.

  • 2. Kary Ellis  |  February 27, 2007 at 11:47 am

    We teach alot of things we hate! I love English, Roman and Greek history! World Geography not so much, but that is what I am teaching now.

  • […] 2.0, Relevance — theothersideofthedesk @ 2:23 pm I’ve had a couple of comments on a post I wrote about having to teach things that I don’t enjoy (namely, the French Revolution).  […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


My ClustrMap

February 2007
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728  

del.icio.us


